JACKSON SQUARE, NEW ORLEANS, ORLEANS PARISH, LOUISIANA
Presbytère has a fascinating history, as it was designed in 1791 to match the Town Hall. The second floor was not completed in its entirety until the year 1813. Presbytère acquired its name from being on the property of Capuchin monks. The intention of this building was to house clergy, however, this building never did. The building, later on, was used by the Louisiana Supreme Court. In 1908, Presbytère was sold to the state and eventually became a part of the Louisiana State Museum. And, in 1970 was declared a National Historic Landmark.